Click on image or link above to visit a garden of your choice

SANBI’s Conservation Gardens & Tourism Division manages SANBI’s network of nine National Botanical Gardens (NBGs), each with their associated tourism infrastructure and conservation estate, and Interpretation Section. ‘Conservation Gardens’ is the international term for botanical gardens that include both landscaped and natural areas within their boundaries.

The nine national botanical gardens - Free State, Hantam, Harold Porter, Karoo Desert, Kirstenbosch, Lowveld, KwaZulu-Natal, Pretoria and Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens - are located in six of South Africa’s nine provinces. South Africa’s national botanical gardens have, since their establishment at different times during the 20th and 21st century, focused on growing and conserving South Africa’s indigenous plants. Together they conserve over 7,500 ha of natural vegetation and associated biodiversity within their boundaries. Combined, South Africa’s national botanical gardens receive over one million visitors per annum, with Kirstenbosch, considered one of the world’s ‘Magnificent Seven’ botanical gardens, receiving over 685,000 visitors.




Last updated on 21 February 2014
Copyright 2014 © SANBI | All Rights Reserved | Terms & Conditions