Click on image or link above to visit a garden of your choice

SANBI’s Conservation Gardens & Tourism Division manages SANBI’s network of ten National Botanical Gardens (NBGs), each with their associated tourism infrastructure and conservation estate, and Interpretation Section. ‘Conservation Gardens’ is the international term for botanical gardens that include both landscaped and natural areas within their boundaries.

The ten national botanical gardens - Free State, Hantam, Harold Porter, Karoo Desert, Kirstenbosch, Kwelera, Lowveld, KwaZulu-Natal, Pretoria and Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens - are located in seven of South Africa’s nine provinces. South Africa’s national botanical gardens have, since their establishment at different times during the 20th and 21st century, focused on growing and conserving South Africa’s indigenous plants. Together they conserve over 7,400 ha of natural vegetation and associated biodiversity within their boundaries. Combined, South Africa’s national botanical gardens receive nearly 1.5 million visitors per annum, with Kirstenbosch, considered one of the world’s ‘Magnificent Seven’ botanical gardens, receiving over 820,000 visitors per annum.

Kwelera National Botanical Garden

Kwelera National Botanical Garden - waves

The latest addition to SANBI's National Botanical Gardens, Kwelera, near East London, is not yet open to the public. It is expected to be accessible to visitors in 2-3 years after construction of the necessary infrastructure and garden layout have been completed.

Last updated on 21 December 2015
Copyright 2018 © SANBI | All Rights Reserved | Terms & Conditions