Our Governance Structure

SANBI’s structure is a reflection of the Institute’s responsibilities as outlined in the National Environmental Management Biodiversity Act (NEMBA), 2004. The key indicator of this is SANBI’s high-level Organogram. The organogram mirrors SANBI’s mandated functions through six programmes.

Download the SANBI Organogram

Board Members

Mrs. Beryl Ferguson (Chairperson of the Board)
Prof. Brian van Wilgen  
 Mrs. Thandiwe Godongwana
 Dr. Lesley Thulani Luthuli  
 Ms. Ntsoaki Mngomezulu  
Dr. Yonah Seleti (DST representative)
 Ms. Phuthanang Cenea Motsielwa
Prof. Kowiyou Yessoufou
Ms. Pam Yako
Mr Shonisani Munzhedzi (Chief Executive Officer)

Company Secretary: Ms. Lebogang Ralepeli

The SANBI Board is a statutory body appointed by the Minister of Environmental Affairs as prescribed in NEMBA and reports to the Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries. This is the fifth Board appointed on 01 October 2018 for a three-year term ending on 30 September 2021, under the National Environmental Management Biodiversity Act 109 of 2004 (NEMBA).

Composition of the Board

The Board is subject to the provisions of the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA), Treasury Regulations and other relevant laws of the Republic of South Africa. The Board also strives to ensure good corporate governance practice within SANBI and it has adopted relevant sections of the King Report, which have been incorporated into its Board Manual/Terms of Reference.

Board Sub-Committees:

Audit and Risk Committee (ARC)

  • Dr. Lesley Luthuli (Chairperson)
  • Ms. Thandiwe Godongwana
  • Ms. Phuthanang Motsielwa
  • Mr Shonisani Munzhedzi (Ex-Officio)

Expert Members

  • Mr Tichaona Zororo
  • Mr Sathie Gounden

Human Resources and Remuneration Committee (HR & REMCO)

  • Ms. Ntsoaki Mngomezulu (Chairperson)
  • Dr. Yonah Seleti
  • Ms Pam Yako
  • Ms. Thandiwe Godongwana
  • Mr Shonisani Munzhedzi (Ex-Officio)

Research, Development & Innovation Committee (RD&I)

  • Prof. Brian van Wilgen (Chairperson)
  • Dr. Yonah Seleti
  • Ms. Ntsoaki Mngomezulu
  • Dr. Lesley Luthuli
  • Dr. Kowiyou Yessoufou
  • Mr Shonisani Munzhedzi (Ex-Officio)

Expert Members

  • Dr. Luthando Dziba
  • Prof. Muthama Muasya

Members of the Executive Management Committee (EXCO)

  • Shonisani Munzhedzi – CEO (Chairperson)
  • Carmel Mbizvo – Head: Biodiversity Science and Policy Advice
  • Lorato Sithole – Chief Financial Officer
  • Ramagwai Sebola – Chief Director: Foundational Biodiversity Science
  • Chief Director: Biodiversity Assessment and Knowledge Generation
  • Christopher Willis – Chief Director: National Botanical Gardens
  • Elliot Mashile – Chief Operations Officer
  • Maano Netshiombo – Chief Director: Human Resources
  • Deshni Pillay – Chief Director: Policy Advice and Information Management
  • Mandy Barnett – Chief Director: Adaptation Policy and Resourcing
  • Leslie Mudimeli – Executive Director: National Zoological Garden
  • Theressa Frantz – Chief Director: Biodiversity Assessment and Knowledge Generation
  • Director: Marketing, Communications and Commercialisation
  • Mahlodi Tau – Chairperson: Management Committee (MANCO)
  • Lebogang Ralepeli – Company Secretary

Members of the Management Committee (MANCO)

  • Mahlodi Tau – Director: Biodiversity Mainstreaming (Chairperson)
  • Sebataolo Rahlao – Director: Biodiversity Evidence
  • Vivian Malema – Director: Biodiversity Education and Public Engagement – NBGs
  • Antoinette Kotze – Director: Foundational Research and Services
  • Vusumuzi Mncwango – Director: Strategy and Organisational Development
  • Lebogang Ralepeli – Company Secretary
  • Faizel Richards – Director: Information Technology
  • Azisa Parker – Project Leader: Biodiversity and Land Use Project
  • Michael Jennings – Strategic Grant Manager
  • Michelle Hamer – Director: South African Research Infrastructure Projects
  • Thompson Mutshinyalo – Director: National Botanical Gardens (NBGs)
  • Tracy Rehse – Director: Conservation and Animal Collections
  • Alan Smith – Director: Financial Management and Reporting
  • Jeffrey Manuel – Director: Biodiversity Information Management and Planning
  • Kgabo Moloto – Director: Supply Chain and Asset Management
  • Werner Voigt – Curator: Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden
  • Jenifer Zungu – Project leader: Ecological Infrastructure for Water Security
  • Portia Mpolaise – Director: Governance, Compliance, Risk and Legal Services
  • Ulrich Oberprieler – Director: Biodiversity Education and Public Engagement (NZG)
  • Eric van Wyk – Acting Director: Collections and Innovation
  • Director: Marketing, Communications and Commercialisation
  • Farai Tererai – Director: Biodiversity Assessment

By invitation

Carol Poole – Deputy Director: Biodiversity Research Projects, representative for Directorate: Biodiversity Assessment.

Please see our contacts page for further information and PAIA and Fraud reporting links.

Scroll to top