Scientific Authority members

In terms of section 60(1) of the National Environmental Management: Biodiversity Act, 2004 (Act No. 10 of 2004) (NEMBA), the Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries is mandated to establish a Scientific Authority to assist in regulating and restricting trade in specimens of threatened or protected species and species included in the Appendices to CITES. The following institutional representatives have been officially appointed by the Minister as members of the Scientific Authority:

  • Ms Lihle Dumalisile (Gauteng Department of Agriculture and Rural Development)
  • Ms Humbu Mafumo (Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries)
  • Ms Carmel Mbizvo (South African National Biodiversity Institute)
  • Mr Errol Moeng (Limpopo Department of Economic Development, Environment and Tourism)
  • Ms Bontle Morwe (Free State Department of Economic, Small Business Development, Tourism and Environment Affairs)
  • Mr Craig Mulqueeny (Ezemvelo KwaZulu-Natal Wildlife)
  • Dr Monica Mwale (National Zoological Garden of South Africa)
  • Mr Herman Oosthuizen (Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries)
  • Ms Elsabe Swart (Northern Cape Department of Environment and Nature Conservation).
Scroll to top